Skip to main content

Topps Rolls Out its 54th Annual Rookie All-Star Team

No surprise that Harper, Trout and Darvish make Topps Rookie All-Star team. Look for the familiar trophy on their cards and many others heading into the 2013 collecting season.

Topps has announced its 54th annual Rookie All-Star Team, loaded with the expected players and a few other surprises.


Here is the list:
1B Anthony Rizzo, Cubs (87 games, 15 HR, 48 RBI, .285)
2B Steve Lombardozzi, Nationals (126, 3, 27, .273)
SS Zack Cozart, Reds (138, 15, 35, .246)
3B Todd Frazier, Reds (128, 19, 67, .273)
OF Mike Trout, Angels (139, 30, 83, .326)
OF Bryce Harper, Nationals (139, 22, 59, .270)
OF Yoenis Cespedes, A’s (129, 23, 82, .292)
C Wilin Rosario, Rockies (117, 28, 71, .270)
LHP Wade Miley, D’backs (194.2 IP, 16-11, 3.33, 144 K, 37 BB)
RHP Yu Darvish, Rangers (191.1 IP, 16-9, 3.90, 221 K, 89 BB)
RP Addison Reed, White Sox (55 IP, 29 Saves, 4.75, 54 K, 18BB)

The Topps Major League Rookie All-Star team began in 1959 with Willie McCovey being the first of 18 future Hall of Famers named to the squad (others include Johnny Bench, Rod Carew, Gary Carter, Andre Dawson, Carlton Fisk, Paul Molitor, Joe Morgan, Eddie Murray, Tony Perez, Kirby Puckett, Jim Rice, Cal Ripken, Ryne Sandberg, Ron Santo, Tom Seaver, Ozzie Smith and Billy Williams).

The Rookie All-Stars will each have a trophy on their 2013 trading card in Topps Baseball, with Series One due out in early February.

The Major League Rookie All-Star Team is one of a number of awards programs managed by Topps to reward and encourage young ballplayers. Since 1959, Topps has annually bestowed honors on minor leaguers, baseball scouts and the Baseball Organization of the Year.