Skip to main content

Details Announced for The National VIP Party

Autographs signers and other events have been announced for the 30th National Sports Collectors Convention in Cleveland, to be held July 29-Aug. 2.
  • Author:
  • Publish date:

Tickets for the 30th National Sports Collectors Convention are now available online through the National’s website at The 30th National Sports Collectors Convention will be held July 29-August 2, 2009 at the International Exposition (I-X) Center in Cleveland.

Organizers have announced that several special free autograph guests will appear at the National on July 29, 2009 at the I-X Center in Cleveland. Signing Autographs at the Beckett Media VIP Reception on Wednesday afternoon (2:30-4:30 p.m.) will be former Cleveland Indians great Andre Thornton. Joining Thornton will be Professional and College Football halls of fame member, Charley Trippi. These two players will be signing free for VIP ticket holders on Wednesday afternoon, July 29 from 3:30-4:30 in the VIP Lounge (I-X Center Ballroom). Additional details on the VIP Reception will be sent to all VIP ticket holders in mid-July.

Former Ohio State and Chicago Bears quarterback, Craig Krenzel will also be signing free autographs at the 30th National Sneak Peek from 5:30-7:30 in the Tristar Autograph Pavilion. Thornton (5:00-6:30) and Trippi (5-7) will join Krenzel in providing autographs to Sneak Peek attendees on a first-come, first-served basis. Krenzel was the Buckeyes’ starting QB on the last OSU National Championship team in 1982 and was twice named Fiesta Bowl MVP. An exceptional student as well as a great athlete, Krenzel won the Draddy Award, given to the outstanding college football student-athlete in 2003. He graduated OSU with a degree in molecular genetics. Drafted by the Chicago Bears, he played two seasons in the NFL before leaving the game with an elbow injury.

Available for the first time this year, the Super VIP package is priced at $159 for advance online purchase ($199 onsite) and provides admission to all five days of the National, including the 30th National Sneak Peek on Wednesday, July 29, invitation to the exclusive Beckett Media VIP Reception preceding the Sneak Peek, one-half hour early entry to the show floor through a special VIP Entrance each day, weeklong use of the VIP Lounge. The Super VIP provides a total of 18 VIP Autograph tickets, one for each VIP signer appearing at the National, plus two sets of VIP gifts consisting of items made exclusively for the 30th National. In addition, the Super VIP also includes a free parking pass for the week of the National in an exclusive VIP parking lot convenient to the VIP entrance area. Due to parking restrictions, the Super VIP admission package will be limited to the first 300 attendees who purchase it through the National website.

All 18 VIP Autograph signers have been named. The group contains local favorites like members of the 1964 Browns NFL Champs Bob Gain and Dick Schafrath, 1976 NFL Defensive Player of the Year Jerry Sherk, two-time All Pro Mike Pruitt and Ohio State greats Jim Stillwagon and Jan White. Also signing for VIPs will be 1979 Heisman Trophy winner Charles White. Baseball VIP signers include 1980 Rookie of the Year Joe Charboneau, 1961 Rookie of the Year Don Schwall and 1976 Rookie of the Year John “The Count” Montefusco. 1967 Cy Young Winner Mike McCormick, “Big Daddy” Rick Reuschel and four-time All-Star Jack Clark will also appear. Indians no-hit pitcher Sonny Siebert and perfect game pitcher Len Barker will sign. History maker Ron Blomberg, who was the first DH, will also be on hand. Rounding out the baseball VIP signers are former Red Sox pitcher Bill Monboquette and Reds great Lee May.