Skip to main content

Topps announces 48th annual rookie all-star team

Editor Input Needed
  • Author:
  • Publish date:

Topps announces the 48th annual Topps Major League Rookie All-Star Team following balloting by Major League managers. The Florida Marlins and Los Angeles Dodgers each had two representatives selected to the team.

The Summary:

1B Prince Fielder, Milwaukee (157 games, 28 HR, 81 RBI, .271) - Unanimous selection
2B Dan Uggla, Florida (154, 27, 90, .282) - Unanimous selection
3B Ryan Zimmerman, Washington (157, 20, 110, .287) - Unanimous selection
SS Hanley Ramirez, Florida (158, 17, 59, .292) - Unanimous selection
OF Melky Cabrera, New York (A.L.) (130, 7, 50, .280)
OF Andre Ethier, Los Angeles (N.L) (126, 11, 55, .308)
OF Nick Markakis, Baltimore (147, 16, 62, .291)
C Russell Martin, Los Angeles (N.L.) (121, 10, 65, .282)

RHP Justin Verlander, Detroit (186 IP, 17-9, 3.63, 124 K, 60 BB)
LHP Francisco Liriano, Minnesota (121 IP, 12-3, 2.16, 144 K, 32 BB)

The Topps Major League Rookie All-Star team began in 1959 with Willie McCovey being the first of 14 future Hall of Famers named to the squad (others include Johnny Bench, Rod Carew, Gary Carter, Carlton Fisk, Paul Molitor, Joe Morgan, Eddie Murray, Tony Perez, Kirby Puckett, Ryne Sandberg, Tom Seaver, Ozzie Smith and Billy Williams). The Rookie All-Stars will each have a trophy on their 2007 trading card in Topps Baseball, with Series One due out on January 29th.

Auction of the Week


Galaxy Auctions

Sports cards, rock posters, music memorabilia, collectable card games, Hollywood, pop culture, historical, autographs, publications, art, and much more!